Top Logo

General Wellness





Eating Disorders

Substance Abuse

Bipolar Disorder

General Wellness


Borderline Personality Disorder

Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder

Traumatic Brain Injury

What is Wellness?

SAMHSA defines wellness not as the absence of disease, illness, or stress but the presence of purpose in life, active involvement in satisfying work and play, joyful relationships, a healthy body and living environment, and happiness.

Eight Dimensions of Wellness

-Emotional—Coping effectively with life and creating satisfying relationships

-Environmental—Good health by occupying pleasant, stimulating environments that support well-being

-Financial—Satisfaction with current and future financial situations

-Intellectual—Recognizing creative abilities and finding ways to expand knowledge and skills

-Occupational—Personal satisfaction and enrichment from one’s work

-Physical—Recognizing the need for physical activity, healthy foods, and sleep

-Social—Developing a sense of connection, belonging, and a well-developed support system

-Spiritual—Expanding a sense of purpose and meaning in life

-SAMHSA Wellness Strategies-

Wellness Wheel



All information taken from:

U.S.Dept of Health and Human Services. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) Website,